15 Books Like “The Summer I Became Pretty” That Will Be Your Next Beach Read

0
30

Since The summer when I became pretty dropped on Prime Video, Jenny Han’s trilogy of books on which the series is based became summer 2022’s beach reading. ICYMI, Han’s first book series, To all the boys I’ve loved before, has become a popular adapted film trilogy, and its latest series is equally unmissable. For The summer when I became pretty, Han delves into his specialty in young adult romance and takes readers on a beachside journey marked by coming-of-age struggles and strained teenage love. If you can’t resist a summer read full of adventure, steamy romance, and deep stories about growing up and choosing your own path, check out these 15 books like The summer when I became pretty get lost in it.

If you’ve bonded with Isabel “Belly” Conklin’s story of becoming a woman and navigating healthy relationships as you find yourself, this library of options like The summer when I became pretty deliver similar summer vibes. If you want to be transported from a dull life to the sandy beaches of Cape Cod, a teenage dream in a Taylor Swift universe, or the romantic, shady streets of Tuscany, check out these 15 romance novels from the summer of 2022 that are all about young love.

There’s nothing worse than the feeling of finishing a book and leaving a world you were so enthralled in. Fortunately, just like The summer when I became pretty, many of these similar 15 books also have a film or TV adaptation so you can stream right after you finish reading. In this list, you’ll find a variety of young adult summer novels set in intriguing settings, with complicated yet tender love stories and heartfelt life lessons that you’ll love just as much as The summer when I became pretty.

Summer of broken rules By KL Walther

What if your summer reading existed in the world of Taylor Swift, specifically the Without fear and Speak Now scrapbooks? This contemporary romance novel is inspired by the queen of breakup songs herself, and KL Walther has woven several references to her music throughout the story.

See also  Camille Kostek, mannequin de Sports Illustrated Swimsuit, dans le numéro 2022, reste en forme : « Prête à relever le défi »

The story follows Meredith TUSEN who, after losing her sister and being dumped by her longtime boyfriend, ventures to Martha’s Vineyard to attend her cousin’s wedding. There, she plays her family’s traditional game of assassin and finds ally and romance in a cute groomsman. It has themes of loss, coming of age, fairytale love, and self-worth, just like a Taylor Swift song.

Along the ride By Sarah Dessen

You’ll be glued to this novel all day at the beach. Set in a fairy tale seaside town, Along the ride follows Auden as she visits her father and new family for the summer. There she works in a shop and meets a boy named Eli who takes her on adventures worthy of a teenage dream. Although it was written in 2009, Netflix released a film adaptation in May that you can stream right after reading.

Read on the beach By Emily Henry

If you’re looking for a smart love story with clever humor and captivating sexual tension, Read on the beach (the aptly named) is for you. Protagonist January has great lead character energy as she narrates and fantasizes about her life as a blockbuster movie. She meets the angsty Gus who doesn’t believe in fairy tales – until their own thrilling love story unfolds.

hold the universe By Jennifer Niven

If you have read All the bright places, then you’ll love Jennifer Niven’s touching story of love, coming of age, and seeing someone for who they really are. In hold the universeLibby navigates the death of her mother, body image issues and the chaotic world of early life at a brand new high school.

See also  Logan Airport flight delays and cancellations drag on due to East Coast weather

Every summer after by Carley Fortune

In Every summer aftercity girl Persephone Frazer returns to her childhood hometown to attend the funeral of the mother of her ex-flame Sam. past.

We were liars by E. Lockhart

This suspenseful mystery is set in old-school Cape Cod. It follows Cadence Sinclair Easton and her band of friends and “liars” as she navigates her dysfunctional family, a heartbreaking romance, and a surprise twist at the end. Go into this rollercoaster-ready read – and don’t you dare spoil the ending.

Every last word by Tamara Ireland Stone

As Samantha McAllister navigates her freshman year with popular toxic friends, she also faces a daily struggle with OCD. A new friend named Caroline introduces her to a world of misfits where she meets a mysterious boy who plays the guitar. It’s a story of first love and self-discovery, with a poetic twist.

love and ice cream by Jenna Evans Welch

Reading this is like enjoying soft serve ice cream under the sun. Set in Tuscany, Lina follows her mother’s dying wish to reunite with her estranged father. She embarks on a journey to uncover her family’s secrets, while navigating the magical Italian landscape of art, food and romance.

bittersweet by Stephanie Danler

This bittersweet tale of filthy New York City, coming of age, lust and the search for belonging is set in an elite restaurant where Tess unknowingly lands a life-changing job as a “service waiter.” . It even inspired an original drama with two seasons Starz.

Sun-kissed by Kasie West

In Sun-kissed, Avery is dragged away to a family campsite for the summer after hearing about her best friend’s ultimate betrayal. A charming campsite staff member named Brooks takes her on a journey of self-discovery and heartfelt surprises.

See also  Georgia man suspected of murdering Atlanta rapper 'Trouble' turns himself in to police

Maybe in another life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

When Hannah Martin meets an old flame at a bar after returning to her hometown of Los Angeles, she is faced with two choices: should she go home with her friend Gabby or stay with Ethan for the rest of the night? The novel splits into two alternate storylines that play out the aftermath of Hannah, where the author explores the fate and existence of kindred spirits.

The stopover by Lacie Waldon

The stopover is an irresistible whirlwind of enemies to lovers about Ava Greene who makes her last trip as a flight attendant. When the plane breaks down at Belize airport, she’s stuck in paradise with her gorgeous nemesis and ex-pilot Jack Stone.

wait for it by Jenn McKinlay

Annabelle Martin wraps up her dreary life in Boston to take up a creative director job in Pheonix, Arizona, wait for it. When she arrives, she is immediately intrigued by her new owner, who shows her his friendship, strength, and courage to embrace a life of happiness.

Before we were strangers by Renée Carlino

This dual-perspective novel tells a moving and tender story about past love and failed relationships after two people separated 15 years ago in New York City. Keep your tissues nearby for this one.

The distance between us by Maggie O’Farrell

Set in 1994, The people we keep follows April Sawicki’s escape from her dusty town and her “motorless motorhome”, as she takes on a nomadic existence in search of a place of her own and meets some memorable people along the way .

The post 15 Books Like “The Summer I Got Pretty” That Will Be Your Next Beach Read appeared first on Elite Daily.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here