Delhi government approves 1,500 electric buses for public transport fleet


The Delhi government on Friday approved the introduction of 1,500 electric low-floor buses into its public transport fleet, according to an official statement. The Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) has also decided to allocate 10 sites to various agencies for setting up electric vehicle (EV) charging stations and battery swapping stations under the Delhi EV Policy 2020 , she said.

The city government also gave approval to operate 75 interstate buses along 11 routes across five states and one union territory.

See also  After Toyota's Mirai, the Japanese auto giant bets on buses and trucks

The DTC Board of Directors has also decided to increase the allowance paid to women during the training for engagement as drivers on a contractual basis from Rs 6,000 to Rs 12,000 per month with the HMV driving license .

The council had already removed the requirement of holding an HMV driver’s license for at least three years for women seeking employment as bus drivers in its fleet, the statement said.

See also  Renault unveils electric-hydrogen hybrid concept car and claims it will have a range of up to 497 miles

The 10 sites that have been awarded to various service providers for establishing EV battery charging and swapping stations are Ambedkar Nagar Depot, Jal Vihar Terminal, Dilshad Garden Terminal, Karawal Nagar Terminal, Shadipur Depot, Mayapuri Depot, Bindpur Terminal, East Vinod Nagar, Punjabi Bagh and Rohini Depot-I. Delhi Transco Limited (DTL) has identified four service providers through a tender process who will soon sign an agreement with DTC to set up the EV battery charging/swapping stations in these locations. The DTC board also decided to provide approval in principle for the purchase of 75 (38 non-AC and 37 AC) CNG standard ground buses for interstate operations, he said.

See also  Spotify's premium subscriber count hits 182 million

These buses will run on 11 routes across five states (Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab) and Chandigarh – between Delhi-Rishikesh, Delhi-Haridwar, Delhi-Dehradun, Delhi-Haldwani, Delhi-Agra, Delhi-Bareilly, Delhi-Lucknow, Delhi-Jaipur, Delhi-Chandigarh, Delhi-Panipat and Delhi-Patiala, the statement said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here