Did Hunter Henry catch that? Dubious Call Costs Patriots a TD on Thanksgiving

0
3

Hunter Henry gave the NFL his last catch controversy on Thanksgiving. (Photo by Chris Unger/Getty Images)

Thanksgiving can see a lot of domestic arguments, but one of the loudest came after a so-called New England Patriots touchdown during Thursday’s final game.

Tied at 23-23, the Patriots appeared to score a go-ahead touchdown on a pass from Mac Jones to Hunter Henry in the red zone. It was an impressive catch, with Henry acrobatically catching the ball behind his body and holding it as it hit the ground.

See also  Brain game: Djokovic gives Ruud the run-around | TUSEN | Tennis

Unfortunately for Henry and the Patriots, the umpires decided to take a closer look at the moment the ball hit the ground.

What followed was the types of instant replay where two people can see something completely different. Som argued that Henry managed to keep his hand under the ball, others thought the ball hit grass, which would have turned the touchdown into an incomplete pass when Henry wobbled the ball after hitting the ground.

See also  Michael Hussey names potential player to replace MS Dhoni as CSK captain in future

The play was called a touchdown on the field, but the umpires saw enough to turn the score around. The incomplete pass left the Patriots with a fourth and a goal, leading to a Nick Folk field goal.

The turn of events was a boon to a Vikings defense that was struggling for a week after the doors were blown off by the Dallas Cowboys. Up to that game, Jones was going 20-for-25 for 278 passing yards and two touchdowns through the air.

See also  United Cup Field Set | TUSEN | Tennis

That play from Henry would have given Jones a third touchdown for the third time in his career. Instead, the Patriots were left with a four-point swing and a three-and-out on their next possession.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here