F1: McLaren’s Lando Norris secures pole position in Sochi wet qualifying


Verstappen and Leclerc took engine penalties, which is why they start from the back of the grid

Lando Norris signs his first pole position of his career

develop See the pictures

Lando Norris signs his first pole position of his career

In a wet qualifying session, Lando Norris managed his last lap in the McLaren Mercedes to pass his former teammate Carlos Sainz Jr in the Ferrari to P1 in Sochi. This is the British driver’s first pole and he will set off in a fast car in a straight line on a track not known for many overtaking. George Russell raised Williams to P3 again ahead of reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton who just managed P4, having hit the wall entering the pit lane just before switching to slick tires on a dry track.


Hamilton crashed his car entering the pit lane

See also  Ather 450 now Rs. 24,000 cheaper in Maharashtra

Hamilton had his front wing replaced, which meant his exit was delayed, giving him less time to warm up the slick tires on a cold track. Daniel Ricciardo was behind Hamilton in the second McLaren. Fernando Alonso was impressive again in the Alpine with a P6 in the wet conditions ahead of even Valtteri Bottas in the second Mercedes who had dominated the practice sessions. Lance Stroll again proved his skills in wet conditions by securing 8th place ahead of his teammate Sebastian Vettel, 11th place.

Sergio Perez was the Red Bull leader in P9 ahead of Ocon in the second Alpine in P10. Gasly and Tsunoda’s AlphaTauri pair were P12 and P13 respectively while returning Raikkonen was the Alfa Romeo leader in the P14. Mick Schumacher was impressive with the P15 for the Haas as he was not only ahead of his teammate Nikita Mazepin who led the P17, but was also ahead of Antonio Giovinazzi in the other Alfa Romeo.

See also  Mahindra XUV700 Javelin Edition for Olympic medalist Neeraj Chopra spotted

Max Verstappen will start from the end of the grid in P20 because of the engine change penalty. Ferrari’s Leclerc also has a similar penalty and he starts from P19 while Latifi has not completed his lap and will start from P18.


Former teammates came P1 and P2


1 Lando Norris McLaren 1: 41.993
2 Ferrari of Carlos Sainz 0.517s
3 George Russell Williams 0.990
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 2.057
5 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 2.163s
6 Fernando Alonso Alpine 2.211s
7 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 2.717s
8 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 2.963s
9 Sergio Perez Red Bull 3.344s
10 Esteban Ocon Alpine 3.872s
11 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1: 46.521
12 Pierre Gasly Alpha Tauri 1: 46.641
13 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1: 46.751
14 Nicholas Latifi Williams No Time
15 Charles Leclerc Ferrari no time
16 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Racing 1: 49.586
17 Mick Schumacher Haas 1: 49.830
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing 1: 51.023
19 Nikita Mazepin Haas 1: 53.764
20 Max Verstappen Red Bull no time

See also  Hero MotoCorp teases Hero Xtreme 160R Stealth Edition

For the latest automotive news and reviews, follow TUSEN.com on Twitter, Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here