Shikhar Dhawan to Lead India Sri Lanka ODI, T20I Series as BCCI Appoints Team | Cricket News


The Cricket Control Board in India has announced the Indian men’s team for the upcoming ODI three-match series and the T20I three-match series against Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan will lead Team India in the absence of regular captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Rohit Sharma. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been appointed vice-captain of the team. The team have several new faces in middle-order batsman Nitish Rana, versatile K Gowtham, opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and quick pitcher Chetan Sakariya, among others. Another opener Devdutt Padikkal is also on the squad and Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore and Simarjeet Singh have been named net throwers.

See also  England vs India test run route unlikely to change after ECB-BCCI talks: report | Cricket News

BCCI has also confirmed the schedule for the upcoming series, with all matches to be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The ODI will be played on July 13, 16 and 18 followed by the T20I on July 21, 23 and 25.

The team chosen for the tour has several missing regulars as the Indian Test Team tour England to play the World Test Championship final against New Zealand from June 18 in Southampton.

See also  Ollie Robinson suspended for racist "Over The Top" tweets: British Minister | Cricket News

The WTC final will be followed by a five-game test series against England starting August 4.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, who made an impressive debut in their India limited-series career against England in March, have been nominated for the Sri Lanka tour as well as Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the bowling attack including Deepak Chahar , Navdeep Saini and newcomer Sakariya.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are frontline spinners while Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and K Gowtham are versatile players.

See also  #SultanOfSwing: Wasim Akram is 55, his wife Shaniera Akram and Waqar Younis topped with birthday greetings | Cricket News


Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan are the team’s wicket keepers.

Team: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krunal, Krunal, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here