Yasir Shah returns as Pakistan announce 18-man test squad in Sri Lanka | Cricket News


Leg player Yasir Shah returned to the side as Pakistan announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming two-game Test series against Sri Lanka. Yasir had played a pivotal role in Pakistan’s Test series triumph in Sri Lanka in 2015, having bagged 24 wickets. The versatile Salman Ali Agha, who received his first call-up for the South Africa tour last year, has also been called up to the side. Mohammad Nawaz, who withdrew from the recent test series against Australia due to injury, has also been recalled for both tests in Sri Lanka next month.

See also  Indian and Pakistani players to play for same team in 2023 Afro-Asian Cup?, deets inside

Pakistan will leave for Sri Lanka on July 6 before playing a three-day training match from July 11-13.

The first test will be played in Galle from July 16, while the second test will be played in Colombo from July 24.

“We have selected this team taking into account the conditions in Sri Lanka and have equipped the team with the best possible resources,” PCB head coach Muhammad Wasim said in an official statement.

See also  India vs England - 'That devaluation of his wicket...': Ex-England captain on Ben Stokes | Cricket News

This will be the last posting outside Pakistan of the current cycle of the World Trials Championship (WTC).


Currently fifth in the table, Pakistan were narrowly beaten by Australia in the historic three-game home Test series earlier this year.

Pakistani team for Sri Lanka Tests: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq , Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicket keeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here